I think of myself as a fullstack developer but the stack is becoming more complex each passing day and at times am not sure what it means anymore. For instance, before mobile development was popular fullstack mostly meant a person comfortable with back end(C#,PHP,Java,SQL,MySQL…) and front end(HTML,CSS,Javascript…) hence that’s where I fit in.

However when you start talking about native mobile application development, the stack begins to change because Android or IOS or whatever you’re into brings its own stack in some sense. As such to make sure I fit in within the ‘modern stack’, I have to be comfortable with the mobile frameworks as well, at least in my opinion. If I was still in college, it would be fun to learn all these and impress companies with my application portfolio. Now I do not have that luxury, as such I have to make sure am adding as much value as I can to my current work place leaving little time to experimentation of the ‘modern stack’.

For the longest time, I have been trying to find ways to make use of my current web development knowledge to build native mobile application as quickly as possible. I have been experimenting with Ionic, Xamarin to make applications that have same feel as native apps but haven’t had much luck with that. That’s the main difference between hybrid apps and native apps, it doesn’t just feel same no matter how hard you try. Hybrid application definitely work and sometimes an average user can’t tell difference between hybrid application and native application.

Good news is the answer is here: Angular2 and NativeScript. These two will change web and mobile development game. They are both in Alpha stage but I am taking them for a drive because I am very excited what these two guys can accomplish together. So now I can just work making my javascript or typescript knowledge better and develop across all platforms. That’s a win 🙂

I will be blogging more about these two magical things; Angular2 and NativeScript {N}.

 

